High Roundhouse kick

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Goju, Oct 28, 2004.

1. Goju

Goju Yellow Belt

I was thinking of putting this in the Karate section, but theres many different ma that use a roundhouse style kick in one form or another.

When I started training, it only took me a little while to get flexible enough to do a high roundhouse. I know that it is not the best kick for sparring, but I was really good at it, I could do it really fast and at head level with quite a bit of power. I was really busy for a period of about a month towards the end of last summer. I returned to the dojo when things were cleared up and I completely lost my roundhouse. Theres no real mystery as to why I lost it, because I hadn't done any karate in a month, but I cant get it back! I stretch much more than I used to when I could do as an attempt to get it back. I also try to get used to doing it again on the Wavemaster and in sparring. Whenever I do either of these I just get a pain in my groin area. Nothing has worked so far.

I wanted to know if this has happened to any of you and if you have any suggestions on what I might be able to do to fix it. Thanks

2. Noib Da Mutt

Noib Da Mutt Banned Banned

hmmm... try dynamic stretching, and slow round kicks, make sure to hold it extended at the end... also make sure you are following the proper steps in the kick, could be you're not doing it right in an absence...

3. alex_000

alex_000 You talking to me?

It took me quite some time to do it right (a couple of years i guess) , but i never lost it even if i didn't train for months. Hell i hadn't train for 4 months this summer, but last week when I started training again it was exactly where i left it :D

4. Shisochin

Shisochin New Member

i suppose dynamic training might work....but give it time. i used to be able to do roundhouse with both legs efficiently. Now my left legs is much better, but my right leg is hopless.....cant think why....hmmmm