Hi from Portsmouth, UK

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by mortimer657, Mar 15, 2011.

1. mortimer657

mortimer657 Valued Member

Hi all,

Have been browsing your forums most of the week and decided to throw myself in there. I'll try and keep this short and sweet.

Born and raised on the south coast here in Portsmouth, aged 29, fast approaching 30. I work in the UK Gravure Printing industry though prior to this i served with the British Army, joined in 97 right out of school and left in 2007, probably (aside from meeting the wife and then having kids of course) some of the best times of my life were had during my time in.

Sporting wise my interest always stood with Boxing. I started at an reasonable age, 8 years old and carried on with it, training and competing all the way up until 4 years ago when i stumbled upon powerlifting. This was most definately bad news for me as i developed a belly and became hideously slow, i lost a large proportion of the explosive power i gained through years of boxing. About a year ago i made the U turn, ditched the powerlifting and started easing back into a bodyweight (albeit with added weight vests and iron woody bands) strength routine and conditioning programme. I dropped around 4 stone and , THANKFULLY, am in good shape again, back looking like an "athlete" instead of an "all-you-can-eat".

I initially was going to return to boxing, however im lusting after something new,a fresh direction as it were. Hence my being here. Hoping you can all help point me in the right direction and offer a little guidance gentle or otherwise. Thats me in a rather tidy little nutshell.

Morti

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.

The best advice is to go along and try out a few different styles. Most classes offer the first lesson free, so take that offer and see what suits you.