Had a GOOD CLASS... for a change...

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by Bigmikey, Jul 26, 2012.

1. Bigmikey

Bigmikey Internet Pacifist.

So I thought I'd share my experience in class last night because it was different, and worth commenting on.

For those that don't know, I am a student at what the VAST majority would classify as a McDojang, and, though it pains me greatly to say, I'm only baby steps behind the masses in my opinion. At least, I have been.

Originally the classes were taught by Master Cheon, a tall (6'1"), very charismatic Korean man. According to him, he had a hard life and it was only his TKD (he RARELY talks about HKD which might explain why he never promotes it. You dont win trophies or shiny medals for HKD) which enabled him to have a life of any kind. Maybe. Maybe not. But thats a conversation for another day, right now its not about him. I say that because a while back he hired Master Won. Master Won is almost his complete opposite in many ways. He's about 5'6", slightly pearish in shape, doughy, and as opposed to Master Cheons, flashy appearance and larger than life attitude, he's got this boyish quality to him that is far more endearing.

Initially we all grumbled when we were told that Master Cheon would be stepping down and leaving Master Won to teach the HKD class. Even when we learned that Master Won's SPECIALTY was HKD, not TKD, we still were dubious. Months went by and while Master Cheon sat in the office during our class making phone calls to students interested in TKD, Master Won put us through our paces according to Master Cheons instruction.