Gracie family hate?

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by Hapuka, May 13, 2015.

1. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

Hi guys, since I'm new to BJJ chances are that I will be asking allot of questions about it here on the forums (I hope nobody minds). So I was cruising around youtube watching videos on BJJ (Ufc, K1 etc.) I found down in the comments section (yes, i know youtube comments are poison) of fights that involved those of the Gracie family that allot of people were giving them flak saying that they are cheaters, scam artists and all round poor sportsmen. I don't know anything about BJJ politics. But didn't the Gracie family create BJJ in the first place? :confused:

2. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

3. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Some of them are poorer examples, others are the best. It's a mixed bag. Pick a Gracie you like and start quoting him/her! :)

4. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

There are a lot of Gracies out there and they're a really easy target for criticism.

5. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter

Pffft. I don't know about exact history, but I do know that if you make it big enough, there are always going to be people who jealously try to tear you down.

Pretty much any MAist who gets to a certain level is going to have his/her detractors. Actually, pretty much ANYONE in ANY chosen field is going to have their detractors.

The Gracie's developed an art that has had and incredible revolutionary effect on MA's.

Worry about the quality of your school and if you enjoy it. Stay away from the politics. Let the quality of the art speak for itself and don't worry about the rest.

Last edited: May 13, 2015
  6. Pretty In Pink

I've never heard anybody say anything bad about Dan Inosanto ;p

7. Prizewriter

Prizewriter Moved on