Foot placement on low kick

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by YODA, May 4, 2002.

1. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Hi all

When kicking to the thigh how do you hold your foot?

Foot pointing down or up?

Foot extended or toes up?

I've seen all sorts of variation from highly qualified Muay Thai people -and they all have valid ustifications for the way they do it.

What's your view?

2. Saz

Saz Nerd Admin

I'm no kickboxing expert, but we do integrate some Thai boxing kicks into kyokushinkai, and the thigh kick is one of them.

As far as I know, all the variations you described can be used in the thigh kick, but they tend to have different purpose's. The foot extended tends to be used to take the leg out and knock the fighter off balance, while the foot with toes back is used for a more painful deadening effect on the thigh

3. hongkongfuey

hongkongfuey Kung Fu Geek

Surely if you are connecting with your shins it doesn't really matter. (Unless you are following up with a sweep of some sort) Maybe it's more down to personal preferance than a 'right or wrong way'.

4. Andy Murray

Andy Murray Sadly passed away. Rest In Peace.

If the foot is down, then there is tension in the muscles opposing the motion of the kick, slowing it down??? I am unsure whether this helps to make the leg more of a solid object though, in terms of the muscle supporting the bone ( anyone see that horrific shot of a Thai Boxer snapping his own leg throwing a low kick )!

I don't really see any physiological relevance to toes up/down except in the structure of the foot on impact, and as this kick is usually impacted with the shin, I am unsure that this would make a difference

If you place your hand on your shin bone, then pull up your foot, a muscle pops up alongside the bone! Would this soften or strengthen the kick?

Andy

Last edited: May 6, 2002
  5. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Interesting observations :D