First sparring session=dissapointment

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by tonyv107, Mar 11, 2011.

1. tonyv107

tonyv107 Valued Member

Just a little background. I have spent most of my MA career doing Kodenkan Ju Jitsi while mixing in some sport Ju Jitsu and Judo as well. I have been thrown and had the wind knocked out of me, and spent time point sparring for sport JJ. I wasn't a fan if it because it wasn't full contact, but I did fairly well working my kicks at range and makin the transition to Grip fighting/throws.

I wanted to learn some solid striking so I've been doing Muay Thai for awhile now and tonight I just had my first sparring session. I was expecting to get hit, because I know I am a noob and don't stand a chance vs the more experienced fighters. Working at range I am pretty good getting in and out of range but it is when I'm close range that I got owned hard.

My jabs were slow and got countered with either a cross or roundhouse to my lead leg ( I have the welts to show it ). Ok so I need to be quicker with my jab and stay light on my fight to check the kick or avoid it.

I found that if I'm caught in a combination I'd get into a sort of "panic" mode. I wasn't afraid, nor was the adrenaline pumping. I just kinda flail my arms in an attempt to block or dodge the punches. In turn this makes it easier for me to be hit.

I got hit with several 4-5 punch combos, all leaving me dazed like I was to slow to fight back. Being a sparring session we obviously aren't going for the KO but I was caught( several times) in a position that in a match I would have been KOed easily.

I am severlt disappointed with my performance, maybe I'm too hard on myself since it was technically my first full contact session. I don't want to rush it or set my goals to high to soon, so what shoul I aim for the next session? Thanks guys.

2. Kuma

Kuma Lurking about