Fear in general

Discussion in 'Women's Self Defence' started by Judderman, Feb 4, 2004.

1. Judderman

Judderman 'Ello darlin'

What are the most common fears your students express about self protection and how do you help over come those fears?

Do you still hold any fears as experienced instructors or users of self protection?

Budo.

2. Judderman

Judderman 'Ello darlin'

No one?

3. USHY

USHY New Member

it´s not about loosing your fears, its about useing them.. Fear keeps you atentive

4. Judderman

Judderman 'Ello darlin'

So what were your fears and how did you overcome them in order to use them?

5. ICT

ICT Shaolin Malay Silat

This is a good one.

My biggest fear is messing up or getting hit in a personal-protection situation because people know I am an instructor and many know I have been in a LOT of altercations and some have seen me in those altercations so they put me up so high on this fighting pedal stool that I can't let them down.

Now I know that I am not as great as some think I am and I could be beat at any time giving the right person at the right time.

So I try not to think about it and just do what I have to do and if I mess up oh well S**t Happens!

A quote form a Chinese master: " It is not unmasterly to stumble but masterly to regain balance and not fall"

Sincerely,
    Teacher: Eddie Ivester

6. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

My fear BEFORE a fight is that I will not live to see my wife, family or friends again. I do not fear losing because when I do fight it is always fpr a purpose, be that defence or in the course of my job.