Effectiveness of leather armour?

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by Southpaw535, Nov 21, 2010.

1. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

Evening peoples, I've recently picked up an old interest in the gladiator games and am actually making an effort to learn about it properly but I'm curious about some fo the armour. I've seen a few different styles of gladiator that use leather to protect their arm or strips of cloth to protect the leg but how well would those have really worked?

2. Oriares

Oriares Valued Member

I'm far from an expert, but I think it was mainly used as protection against incidental nicks and cuts.

3. Southpaw535

Thats my theory too but growing up in the hollywood version of history where heavy plate armour means nothing I struggle to beleive a thin strip of leather would do anything.

So it was more a defense against minor cuts rather than any serious defence?

4. Rebel Wado

Rebel Wado Valued Member

The leather is hardened by boiling it in something (maybe wax?). That's all I know, there are books on it I'm sure.

The point is that it is very hard like plates made of leather.

Another consideration is the weapons that were used at the time. Bronze weapons I think. They would not stay sharp like steel does. A sharp steel dagger would probably penetrate right through leather armor at a 90 degree angle, I assume bronze would too. However at say a 75 degree angle, steel might cut through, but bronze is not as hard and sharp, so it might deflect off without penetration. Just totally numbers I made up to pass on the idea.

Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
  5. Southpaw535

Ah right, explains why the gauntlet I was looking at looked like leather segmenta

6. Gripfighter

Gripfighter Sub Seeker