Does Bujinkan take a lifetime to master?

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by Jason Overlord, May 9, 2010.

1. Jason Overlord

Jason Overlord Valued Member

When I started training in Bujinkan budo taijutsu (then designated as ‘ninpo taijutsu’), I was a fresh-faced young man with a thirst for knowledge. I didn’t read ninja comics and have designs on wearing stealthy clothing and dodging caltrops on my way through dingily-lit castle ramparts.

In my ignorance, I believed ‘ninjitsu’ to be the most effective fighting art in the world. At my secondary school, there was word of this ancient art being illegally taught by Westerners; it was supposed to be banned, due to its heavy emphasis on attack (90% attack, 10% defence).

I was invariably the smallest child in my class at every school I attended. I had no hope of fighting successfully against children who were far bulkier and much more robust than me. My grandfather had taught me the rudimentaries of Western boxing and I’d dabbled in a little karate, when in form two. However, I disliked the heavy emphasis on punching and felt that I would be overwhelmed by anyone who threw their weight at me and stifled my ability to throw punches from a safe distance. So, in an effort to improve my chances against those who saw me as an easy target, I joined a judo class and studied there for most of my secondary school years. It gave me a certain level of confidence, because I was able to physically test myself and survive against people much bigger and stronger than me. However, I realised that the strict rules and regulations within judo (which heavily restricted what types of attacks could be used against me and what responses I may use against them) were, in effect, restricting how far I could progress as an exponent of self defence. There were principles and skills within judo that were extremely valuable, but this wasn’t what I’d hoped it would be.