Destruction/ Power testing

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Tosh, Dec 6, 2002.

1. Tosh

Tosh Renegade of Funk

Just thought I'd start a no doubt explosive thread.

What have you:

1) Broken for testing/grading
    2) Broken for "fun"??

and finally

3) The most impressive break/ aerial techinque

- You've seen
    - Heard about
    - Heard rumours about

For my one of my favourits is the two brick air break performed by Master John Williamson VII recently :cool:

Similar to this one by Master Paul Cutler VII

2. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Hi

I realise this is the TKD forum and I have NO experience of TKD so my views are not at all relevant - but here they are anyway :D

What have I broken for grading/testing?

Nothing apart from fingers, toes, my nose etc :D

Seriously though - I feel breaking inanimate objects is worthless (no doubt someone will quote Bruce Lee so i won't)

Breaking is as far removed from actual fighting ability as musical forms competition is (There's another explosive thread in the making Hehehee).

3. TkdWarrior

TkdWarrior Valued Member

hi tosh spice welcome here... :)
    as such i hav broken nothing for gradings
    but broken teeths jaws ribs not for fun,
    once we(i was about 12 yr old) were playing n exchanged couple of punches :) i got bleeding nose n he got teeth broken(that was before MA)
    most impressive was one russian BB girl who broke board in 360 kick in World championship good enuff for me to hook up with MA :D yea i had crush on her :D ;)
    rumored...um was from Master Hee li cho(two fingered cho, guess got the name rite) he broke a wine bottle(after getting drunk) n bust his fingers too
    -TkdWarrior-

4. Tosh

Tosh Renegade of Funk

As far as I'm concerned breaking is a test of accuracy rather than than showing "fighting ability" for striking techinques at least how do you ever know what's going to be effective if you cannot hit the mark with power??