Defense From A Chair / Intro

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by bedens67, Mar 12, 2004.

1. bedens67

bedens67 New Member

Greetings, all!

New member here... Guess this can serve as my introduction as well as my initial question... :)

My name is Bert and I have been training in martial arts for 5 years. I hope to be testing for my 2nd dan in taekwon-do in August, should I stay on track with my training.

We also mix in a wide variety of things, so I also am quite familiar with kali, sinawali, jiu-jitsu, kickboxing, hapkido/joint locks, etc. I'm the school's resident tank, standing at 6'3" and weighing a fire-plug-solid 295 pounds. :)

Anyway, my interest and specialty in teaching has always been those who need a little more than your "average" (in quotes on purpose :)) student. That ranges from the 3-6 year olds up to children and adults with disabilities / special needs. My personal interest in it is my older son, who has been training for 6 years. He has several developmental delays and has some real difficulties with sequencing and motor planning. Add in some problems with sensory integration, and martial arts is a real challenge for him. But it's also been so very good for him as far as building strength, etc. Katas just kick his tail though :) He might finally test for his yellow belt (9th gup) sometime this year. This interest led me to do a report on teaching martial arts to those with Dysfunction in Sensory Integration as part of my testing for 2nd dan recommended last August.

OK, now to the questions. For my 2nd dan report, I am working on a color belt curriculum for someone who is a wheelchair user. There is such a wide variety of students there, as with any group, so I had to make some suppositions. Primarily, for the purpose of this report, they have adequate use of and strength in their arms, but are unable to use their legs for kicking.