Dan reliance?

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by Poop-Loops, Jan 13, 2004.

1. Poop-Loops

Poop-Loops Banned Banned

I'm thinking about switching to Aikido. Not now, and not because I don't think my current style is innefective, but because I've always favored a grappling art, especially an extremely defence oriented one, since that will prevent me from attacking someone in a fit of anger (I've never done that, but I don't trust myself). Besides, I'm in 3rd year Japanese, and learning Korean is messing me up :(

Anyhoo, I did a search for some Dojo's in my area, and got a few, but most of them have 1st and 2nd dan instructors. My questions is, is Aikido as prone to McDojoism as more popular (or competative) MA's? Is a 1st dan as hard to get as it was way back when? Or are these just probably McDojo's? I'm in no hurry to join, I still have 5 months left of prepaid TKD, and I have a strong feeling that if I tell my parents I want to quit, they'll stop paying for my MA. So I'll have to wait for school to be over, then I'll just get a full time job to pay for it.

PL

2. DexterTCN

DexterTCN New Member

Firstly Aikido is not a grappling art, sorry.

(hell no-one really knows what it is)

Secondly no, there is not much of the McDojo syndrome in Aikido. But there are a fair amount of clubs where the training is 'not very good' from a self-defence point of view.

If you are going to have some free time when you leave school, many countries have uchi-deshi programmes with very high grade Aikidoka. It is worth considering a 3 or 6 month term like that as more effective than 2 years normal training.

3. aikiMac

aikiMac aikido + boxing = very good Moderator Supporter

Yes it is. But we had a long thread on this question already, and a few people held to this "incorrect" view. ( :D Heh heh)

True.