Competition BJJ

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by alister, Apr 5, 2007.

1. alister

alister Huh?

Just some random ramblings from me really...

I've been training Rickson Gracie BJJ for two years now and love it. To add to my training and get a different angle, I've also started training with another association, which is also great and I'm loving learning some new techniques/variations.

The newer of the two (for me) has a strong competition ethos so the training is slightly different and rolling is in five minute bursts and position, unsurprisingly, is important. But this is what I struggle with. In Rickson's style there's a simple mantra - improve position, maintain, submit. The training is very self defence oriented first and foremost and there's a philosophy of giving what you get - ie. If there's no threat, why expend energy fighting? So, when I roll there, a session can go on for ages because the fight is about the submission. I like this.

In competition however, it's about points (I guess ultimately submission). Now I haven't competed yet, but training at this new club has given me a lot of confidence in the skills i've developed in Rickson's style over the last couple of years and I feel confident against the vast majority of other white belts and, playing the longer game, could submit most...but in a competition, I'd probably lose because the other person could get cross-side for example, which for me, has limited threat.

Just strikes me as odd. All BJJ is very effective, but is there a risk that some could lose sight of BJJs purpose? Dunno - just thinking really, any thoughts?

2. cloudz

cloudz Valued Member