Combat Hapkido

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by hardball, Mar 14, 2013.

1. hardball

hardball Valued Member

Is Grandmaster John Pellgrini legit? Is he a real grandmaster?

2. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo

That seems like a bit of a loaded question and I am not sure what kind of answer you are looking for (forgive me, but this can be quite a fiery conversation starter). I will try to provide an answer (and you can do a search of "Combat Hapkido" topics in this forum for a great range of good, bad, and ugly conversations regarding 'Combat Hapkido').

Now, with that said, keep in mind that my answers are biased as I am a Combat Hapkido instructor (4th dan) and I have spent a lot of time at seminars with GM P as a student and sometimes as a throwing dummy. I have a background (2nd dan) in Traditional Hapkido as well.

Long story short, GM John Pellegrini was mainly a TKD instructor (with some background over the years in Judo, Aikido, JKD). He became concerned over what seemed to be a lack of high quality self defense in Taekwondo programs (his TKD Times article in March 1990 caused a lot of controversy when he articulated this view). In the late 1980s and early 1990s, he looked to improve the self defense offerings for TKD students and began looking deeper into Hapkido.