Clueless Omori Ryu question...

Discussion in 'Koryu Bujutsu' started by Bronze Statue, Jul 8, 2008.

1. Bronze Statue

Bronze Statue Valued Member

During Inyo-Shintai version 2, is the third technique a cut or a block? Which side of the blade faces out? I'm asking because my instructor was taught two ways from separate sources and actively does both because he himself is not sure. Can anyone verify this for certain?

2. TheOtherMattR

TheOtherMattR New Member

The way I was taught Sakate (not sure about spelling here) Inyo-shintai was to treat that part as a block. As for the blade orientation its a bit hard to try and explain in text, and I am not experienced enough to go into too much detail. I guess the simplest way would be to say you are blocking with the side of the blade so the edge is facing foreward and slightly to the left. Someone more experienced will have to explain in more detail.

Hope that helped.

Matt

3. pgsmith

pgsmith Valued dismemberer

I believe Gyakute Inyo Shintai is the MSR name for the kata, and MSR practices with a cut instead of a block. However, I practice neither art so I cannot tell you for sure. I remember hearing something about it from a long while back on iaido-L though.

Well, it bugged me so I tracked it down. Here's the original post on iaido-L about it from Kim Taylor. (From 1994! God I'm getting old!)

http://listserv.uoguelph.ca/cgi-bin/wa?A2=ind9408&L=iaido-l&P=4451

Hope that helps, but I feel it will just muddy the waters. :) There are many MSR and MJER practitioners around, so hopefully an experienced exponent of one of those will help you out.

4. TheOtherMattR

TheOtherMattR New Member