Buying a gi in the UK?

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by slideyfoot, Dec 5, 2006.

1. slideyfoot

slideyfoot Co-Founder of Artemis BJJ

There's a fairly good thread on the topic over on Bullshido, but its largely geared towards US purchases (although I did have two helpful suggestions on the UK - MMAUniverse, for example). So, thought I might as well ask over here too, as there is a slightly larger UK presence.

Speaking personally, I'm a beginner, so I'm looking for something very basic: no need to spend a load of cash on something super-high quality. I've got one BJJ gi (they give you one when you sign up at the Roger Gracie Academy) and a cheap judo one (£20, which I got through the university judo club before getting injured). At present, I'm only able to train twice a week, so that means I can wash one and wear the other, but term is ending soon, which will mean I can train three times over the holiday.

Therefore, I'd like another gi (I could just wash the other two even more often, but I'm assuming that will reduce their lifespan?). Judging by the Bullshido thread and Google, these are the options I've come up with so far:

The Atama single-weave, from the US: $85 + $38 shipping (£63 total), plus whatever customs slap on.

Obviously UK supplier is preferable:

Atama gi in the UK - £85

Some random gi from the same site for £50

A 'Fire' gi, which again looks cheapo at £40. Still, I only need cheapo, so as long as its not total crap, tempting.

Or perhaps a judo gi for £30

Any thoughts? Like has anyone tried this 'Fire' gi?

2. Slindsay

Slindsay All violence is necessary

My Judo Sesnei recomends a couple of different Gi's based on how big you are, going by what Mungkorn dam is threatening to do to you over on the UK throwdown thread at bullshido I'lla ssume you want a fairly light weight gi :D

I use one of these but I'm big, my senseis had his one for about 10 years and it's still going strong: