Boxer/judoka learning to kick?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by FunnyBadger, Sep 13, 2014.

1. FunnyBadger

FunnyBadger I love food :)

Hi there all, I appreciate that this thread could end up degenerating so I will try to be as specific as I can in order to prevent that as much as possible.

I boxed for several years as a child and 3 months ago started boxing again. In between I studied judo and jjj and still make occasional judo sessions and train occasionally with a few friends. I am comfortable (but maybe not competent) with grappling and punching but useless with kicking.

I will be moving to cosford (midlands, between telford and Wolverhampton) in a few months and can train judo and boxing on base but I would like to start learning how to use my legs as well. I am not expecting to become a kicking genius but would like to learn some basic kicks and how to defend against them.

Does any one know any good clubs or individuals in that area who teach skills I could incorporate into my existing skill set without to much modification?

2. Unreal Combat

Unreal Combat Valued Member

Are you able to get to Black Widow Gym?

3. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Do you have a link, website or location?

4. FunnyBadger

Quick google search, black widdow looks pretty cool but according to google maps at least 45 mins drive away. Somewhere closer would be better but cheers for that, it looks like somewhere I'd be interested in going even if only occasionally when time allowed it.

5. Unreal Combat

Unreal Combat Valued Member

www.blackwidowmartialarts.com

Considered as one of the best gyms in the midlands. Worth popping in at least once. Fantastic facilities!

6. hewho

hewho Valued Member

Combat Athlete in Ketley (Telford) have a sound rep for MMA, slightly pricey, but it is a case of getting what you pay for! http://www.combatathlete.co.uk

7. FunnyBadger