Best ways to watch boxing, MMA, etc.

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by robert.t, Feb 23, 2020.

1. robert.t

robert.t New Member

Personally, I'm not that into spectator sports at all. So I don't subscribe to any sports TV channels. I don't watch boxing matches normally. I don't particularly care what's going on in the UFC etc.

However, as a martial artist, I feel like it would be really useful to study some of the better fights. A friend who is a boxer recommended watching the classic Muhammad Ali fights like the Rumble in the Jungle, for example. I had a look and DVDs of classic matches seem to be quite hard to find, and expensive.

Tyson Fury's win against Deontay Wilder has reminded me of this. It's being reported as one of the best examples of a "boxer" winning against a "puncher", under constant threat of KO from a single punch. I want to watch that. I'm not a boxer myself, but that's not what matters.

I want to be able to study these fights in detail, so I don't want to, for example, pay for a DAZN subscription that will only allow me to watch the fights when they happen or for about a week afterwards. I'd like to have a library I can access at any time. A digital subscription would be better than buying physical discs, if such a service exists.

Another problem is finding out which fights are worth watching. I know of some famous boxing matches, but have no idea where to start with MMA, or traditional arts like Muay Thai & Sanda. This is perhaps the biggest problem with Youtube after spotty quality. I've stumbled on some good stuff on there, but it's mixed in with so much clickbait garbage that I don't want to waste much time on it.

Any suggestions?

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 23, 2020
  2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award