Beginning Jiu-jitsu?

Discussion in 'Ju Jitsu' started by Amber, Oct 3, 2010.

1. Amber

Amber Valued Member

I've been training in MMA for the last two years, although I've been out of action for the last six months for financial reasons. It looks like my partner and I are about to get back on our feet, and I want to start training again. I am not sure whether I should go back to MMA, or start cross-training, and I was wondering what practitioners might think.

My pros for starting jiu-jitsu
    -It's much cheaper in my area
    -My partner wants to train jiu-jitsu with me
    -I'm planning on becoming a security guard. Stand-up locks, especially wrist locks, are considered the best way for a security guard to deal with violence. My locks and wrist locks currently suck.
    -The self defense aspect of said locks would also be benificial to me.
    -Does jiu-jitsu train strikes? I'd love to get a more traditional striking technique, but I don't want to do it at the expense of my kickboxing technique.
    -My hip throws suck. My experience tells me that my throws could improve alot in a traditional martial art.

My cons for stating jiu-jitsu
    -I don't want to lose my kick-boxing skills
    -I want my training to have sparring elements, and not just tap-sparring.

My unknowns for starting jiu-jitsu
    -Does jiu-jitsu train strikes? I'd love to get a more traditional striking technique, but I don't want to do it at the expense of my kickboxing technique. (Yes, this is probably a slight contradiction).
    -If jiu-jitsuka do train strikes, do they spar? If so, do they spar with contact? I doubt I will find a full-contact dojo, but low-to-mid contact would be much preferable to tap-sparring.
    -Do jiu-jitsuka train weapons? MMA doesn't, and I really want some weapons training.

I am considering training jiu-jitsu, and once a month going to my local MMA gym to train kickboxing/anything else, and I would be able to do this without (much) impact on my finances.