attacks in aikido ?

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by akira2000, Mar 2, 2005.

1. akira2000

akira2000 Valued Member

Hello.

I know, you"ll tell me that O-sensei designed aikido as defensive MA. Despite this. My question will be very simple. At advance level (1dan and up), can aikido offer offensive tools. I dont mean that aikidoka "makes" the uke to attack first, and then attacks uke by manipulating uke's attack. I mean that Aikidoka himself actually begins the attacking move.
    (Again, I'm talking here about aikido at advance level).

ARIGATO :)

Last edited: Mar 2, 2005
  2. aikiMac

aikiMac aikido + boxing = very good Moderator Supporter

1) Why do you want to start a fight? :eek:

2) You don't have to be at a dan grade to initiate a sheo-nage or a kote-gaeshi or a shomen-ate. You just have to know the move.

3. akira2000

akira2000 Valued Member

I'm sorry, those japanese names tell me nothing. I'm a total noob in aikido. Tomorow is my first aikido training :)
    (But I'm not a noob in MA, I have 5 years of kickboxing)

4. aikiMac

My bad, sorry.
    But anyway, yes, there are several things an aikido person could do as an attack if he wanted to. A head-twist takedown (kokyu-nage) is another. A leg sweep (think of judo) is another.

5. akira2000

akira2000 Valued Member

So sorry, I have another question that is very disturbing me :)

I see that in my Aikikai entire tuesday training is weapons training.
    What is weapons training in aikido ? It has something to do with Kendo, Iaido, or Bojutsu , or is it something else ?

6. Dave Humm

Dave Humm Serving Queen and Country

ANY conflict which is about to become physical as apposed to bravado or verbal, must be controlled very carefully to ensure advantage. Waiting for an individual to make "the first move" (physically speaking) isn't tactically sound.