At a loss

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by orysin, Jun 12, 2006.

1. orysin

orysin New Member

Whats the best martial arts to study if you want quick results in strenth and speed, I know martial arts like Aikido take time to learn. Are there any martial arts that are quicker?

2. gornex

gornex Valued Member

naturally as a wing chunner i have to recomend wing chun. The style is simple and designed to be learnt quickly.

3. Deviatingtao

Deviatingtao Valued Member

I'm no expert, but from general knowledge, none. If you want quick results in strength and speed, exercise and practice a lot. Style is not going to matter for that. If you just want to learn a style quickly? Can't say, but learning a style in a rush may not help you the way you're looking for.

4. ItalianStallion

ItalianStallion Valued Member

Muay Thai, there isnt a billion forms and moves for you to learn. Theres knees, elbows, punches and kicks. Simple yet effective.

5. Desk_Driver

Desk_Driver New Member

a) The level of progress you make in terms of strength and speed will partly be determined by how often you train in your chosen martial art.

b) Typically with the majority of martial arts, the actual building up of strength and speed comes from the exercise you do around the actual practice of the techniques, as Deviatingtao suggested.

You can practice a punch or a kick as much as you like to improve your technique and perhaps speed, but exercising the arms and the legs through resistance machines or an alternative will be more benefitial to your strength.

6. TigerDude

TigerDude Valued Member

The Law of the Harvest applies. You have to tend the fields before your reap the harvest. There is no short cut to hard work, especially for strength and speed.