Any experience with Joseph Simonet/KI Fighting Concepts material?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by callsignfuzzy, Nov 30, 2012.

1. callsignfuzzy

callsignfuzzy Is not a number!

Budovideos has his stuff for pretty cheap, and I've always liked the flavor of what I've seen. However, my experience with his base arts (Wing Chun, FMA, Parker-lineage Kempo) is limited and spotty; in particular I've no experience with the Mok Jong, which seems to be an integral part of his material. So because of that, and the fact that I don't quite trust myself to not get caught up in the "that looks cool" aspect of it, I'm looking for outside input. And because of the broad background he has, I'm posting it in General instead of anywhere else.

2. callsignfuzzy

Wow, no one? Anyone? Beuller?

Alright, let's make this easier: how do these videos look to you all?

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CzxEj09TDCU"]Xtreme Kenpo karate "Cyclone" Joseph Simonet - YouTube[/ame]

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXALy0PqM5Y"]How to Use High Intensity Flow Drills for Combat: The Argument of Movement Part Two: Skill Sets - YouTube[/ame]

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FcPKdAxTOCo"]DNA - full review - YouTube[/ame]

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vd31vntu1TU"]KI Fighting Concepts Wing Chun by Paladin Press - YouTube[/ame]

3. Sketco

Sketco Banned Banned

Video 1: the entry into the groin strike was interesting. Everything after that was a little far fetched
    Video 2: when he started talking about the wing chun centerline and using wing chun terms I started to cringe a little. When his partner pulls in that's bad. She's inviting someone, who's a freight train by comparison, straight in toward her and he can just crash right through. You're supposed to sink down with moves like that.