Another hello from the UK (Staffs)

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by SteveP, Nov 17, 2014.

1. SteveP

SteveP Valued Member

Popping in to say hello. I'm Steve, from Staffordshire in the UK. I'm about to (re)start Ju Jitsu and have been to watch a couple of different classes locally to get a feel for them.

I'm happy to say that it's hard to choose from the selection of great classes that I've been to as they are all good. Nice to see.

I say (re)starting because I trained under Sensei David Hand, in Ju Jitsu, when I was a kid and in Wado Ryu Karate in my late teens. Since then I've not practiced any martial arts but have staying very active with road and mountain biking and plenty of rock climbing (mainly bouldering). However MA has always been in the back of my mind and it was only a matter of time before I started training again.

Looking forward to getting started!

2. Bozza Bostik

Bozza Bostik Antichrist on Button Moon

Hi and welcome to MAP,

There's a couple of us Stokies on MAP. Stoke is a lovely place indeed ;)

Where do you climb and boulder?

What MA are you hoping to train?

3. SteveP

SteveP Valued Member

Cheers Bozza! Yep Stoke is lovely ;)

I climb all over the Peak District but The Roaches and Churnet Valley (over Oakamoor/Alton way) are my local outdoor venues. I spend a lot of time at Awesome Walls in Longton as well which is a great local resource. Do you climb?

I'm starting Ju Jitsu again but I'm debating whether to try BJJ instead of JJ as I'm keen to do some ground work and grappling. I'm going to check out Simon McGovern's BJJ class at Impact MA on Thursday and make a decision from there as I know he has a good rep.

Where do you train?

4. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Welcome man! What's bouldering?

5. SteveP

SteveP Valued Member

Cheers!