Ambition In Aikido

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by Aikidojomofo, Aug 11, 2011.

1. Aikidojomofo

Aikidojomofo Valued Member

Does ambition conflict with the teachings of Aikido?

I have been thinking about this for a while. Is being ambitious in your Aikido career contrary to it's teaching and a lot of other Aikido practitioners beliefs and style of training?

I have been training for nearly two years now starting off once a week, moving up to two and now three times a week. I have traveled to Japan and trained with, who I, my club and sensei consider, the best in the world and seen what it really means to dedicate ones self to an art and succeed in being great at it

Is wanting to be the good....No, not good. Great at Aikido the right attitude and mindset to have? Did all these top sensei's think "One day I'll be considered the best in the world and that's where I want to be?" How does one achieve that without ego? As I understand it, a massive part of all martial arts training is about forgetting the ego, just training hard and letting the art change you...for better.

When I go to seminars with top sensei's from all over the country I have a mental check list. I want to train with the heads of all the clubs there 1) to say I have trained with them and 2) to get a better understanding of the differences withing our style, how and why people train the way they do. And i make sure I do train with them all. I'm selfish. This might be my only chance to train with them so I'm going to hog their time for my benefit so I can learn from them. Is this an Aikido attitude?