A weird thing happened to me the other day...

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by jimdare, Jan 7, 2013.

1. jimdare

jimdare New Member

Hi,

I'm a black belt in Nam Wah Pai Kung Fu. Our style involves a degree of external training, which is replaced by internal breathing techniques and Taiji as students progress into the senior ranks. I am also a scientist by profession, so I have always been very sceptical of the internal claims that NWP makes, and I try to remain objective at all times. The other day a weird thing happened to me which I can't explain by myself, so I was hoping to gain some insight from other forum members.

In late December I attended my cousin's wedding. Everything was fine until my Aunty came up to me and asked me to speak to my Mum's new partner, to which I agreed (I didn't know the guy and she has been hurt a few times before so naturally I am a bit protective). At this stage I completely stopped drinking and waited half an hour or so to get my wits about me. I approached her partner and asked him what his intentions were with my mum. He didn't like being spoken to in this way by someone younger than himself (I am 28 and he would be 60ish) so he became quite stroppy. I told him that I was only interested in my mother's wellbeing, and suggested he made some sort of commitment in the near future (not marriage or anything, just something so she knows where she stands).

Anyway, after that the partner discussed the issue with a family friend. This guy is really nice but has been having some trouble with alcohol etc. since his wife died. He called me aside and started to tell me off like a ten year old child. I told him that it was none of his business and that I had a right to protect my mother etc. In the end he replied "you’re not half the man your father was" which hit home a bit since my father died of cancer about 10 years ago. I walked away from him and began to think of what to do. This is where things got weird....