A few questions from a complete beginner.

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by Martial Mark, Mar 30, 2006.

1. Martial Mark

Martial Mark Valued Member

I have been thinking of giving Aikido a try for a few years now but things always got in the way, now however I have a job that I love and can work on my own time scale giving me some free time and money to really give this a try.

Ive decided to attend a class at the Aikikan Dojo in Derby, this place is part of the Aikido union, England and the instructor is Chris McDonald.

Can anyone give me any more information on this Dojo, or the organisation, it mentions The Aikido Union is dedicated to the advancement of the study of Budo, im that uninformed im not even sure what this is.

Also want to get an idea of what to expect, I know its best to attend and see but am pretty excited at getting this started as ive always had an interest in this, especially as it delves into the philosophical side of things.

Look forward to the replies,
    Mark.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2006
  2. ryanTKD

ryanTKD New Member

Dave!

3. Martial Mark

would you mind elaborating ?

4. aikiMac

aikiMac aikido + boxing = very good Moderator Supporter

That was a call to Dave Humm. He runs an aikido school in England and knows a lot of key people in the British aikido world. Dave is the first guy I would ask. He'll be around shortly.

5. Martial Mark

Thanks.

6. Dave Humm

Dave Humm Serving Queen and Country

Mark apols for the delay in reply, I'm studying, teaching and working pretty much on the fly; anyway here at last.

Okis, I'll do my very best to be both honest and objective in my comments however, let me begin my saying that I do know the organisation you have experienced, the man at the top of that organisation is Pat Stratford, Chris MacDonald is as I understand it, Mr. Stratford's right hand man.

A bit of history.

Mr. Stratford claimed some time ago to be, and I quote; "The only westerner to have been a master of aikido"