Your TKD club warm up routine

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by naodwalk, Sep 2, 2013.

1. naodwalk

naodwalk Valued Member

Hello all,

I've been practicing Taekwondo for about 14 years now. Our warm up routine consists of 20 jumping jacks, joint rotations (rotate head, arms, hips, knees), and basic stretches (american splits, chinese splits, butterfly stretch) as well as push ups and sit ups. It is the same warm up EVERY DAY and it gets a bit monotonous.

I've searched a bit for good TKD warm up routines, but I'm curious as to what your club does for a warm up. Also, do you save the stretching for after class, or do it during the warm up before class?

Thanks in advance for your input.

2. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

I'd have your beginners spend the first 2-3 months learning how to squat and deadlift with gradually increasing range of motion. That way they can have the flexibility to kick high without a warm-up; but if you wanted to include one, they could spend 2-3 minutes doing kicks (on pads) with ever-increasing amplitude and speed to get them ready for the main workout.

That's what I do.

3. Kwajman

Kwajman Penguin in paradise....

Whats the dif between american and chinese splits.

4. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

Depends if it's an American or Chinese person doing them.

5. naodwalk

naodwalk Valued Member

Thanks for the input Van Zandt. So so you don't do stretching before the workout?

Kwajman: American splits are done by placing one knee on the ground, extending your other leg straight and separating your legs as far as possible, whereas Chinese splits separate both legs simultaneously while they are both fully extended. I'm not sure how to upload photos, but I'm sure you can google the stretches and find photos of them both.

6. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

No. Absolutely not. If you need to stretch before a skill you aren't ready for the skill.

American splits = front splits.

Chinese splits = side splits.

7. Blade Kemp