Xue's recovery and return log

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Xue Sheng, Jun 6, 2021.

1. Xue Sheng

Xue Sheng All weight is underside

June 06, 2021

I started my last training long on July 17, 2017; Old guy training I am going to close it today and start a new one. I am obviously older and I am facing a different situation. I have knee replacement surgery coming this Friday and I am going to try and track the recovery and hopefully my return to martial arts training.

I also may potentially be facing another knee replacement surgery and possibly both hips too... time will tell

Obviously I hope to return to Taijiquan, I am a long time Yang stylist, I also have training in Chen, Wu and a little Sun style and I hope to return to Chen and continue Sun. There are also a couple others I am thinking about, but more on that later should that training occur.

But first is surgery and then several weeks of getting flexibility and strengthening.

Hope to start this sometime next weekend, depending on pain levels and how many meds I am on that make me loopy

Today I am 6'1" tall (or I was, I'm old and likely shrinking) and thanks to a lot of sitting around due to knee, hip and various other arthritis issues I am currently at 234 lbs (approx. 106K). I was at 240 not to long ago and I hope, after recovery, I can move more and lose more. When all this knee/arthritis stuff started to shut me down I was 225lbs

Well, enough from me, I have to go mow my lawn...... I mean it is only 90F (32.22C) out there.

axelb and Nachi like this.
  2. Nachi

Nachi Valued Member Supporter

So you are sarting afresh here, I see - different corcumstances, different log.

I hope you knee surgery goes well and you will be able to recover quick and hopefully get back to training, too.
    Keep us updated :)

Xue Sheng likes this.
  3. axelb

axelb Master of Office Chair Fu