Written Tests

Discussion in 'Kuk Sool' started by KSW_Martley, Mar 31, 2006.

1. KSW_Martley

KSW_Martley Valued Member

Are there any written tests involved in the process of getting the higher belts, 1st dahn and upwards? I was also wondering if there are any instructors (of any school) who give written tests as a part of a grading? If I was an instructor and I gave out written tests as part of my students' grading, I would probably only do this to see how much they know about what they are supposed to know in the curriculum at that stage. I wouldn't fail them their next belt if they messed up the written part though.

A friend of mine who is soon going for his 2nd dahn in Tae Kwon Do has to do a written test, and if he fails that he doesn't get his dahn. So I was wondering if it ever happens in Kuk Sool?

2. ember

ember Valued Member

I don't know of any written tests, but all of our in-school tests include a mental drill portion. Most of the possible questions and answers are provided in the handbook when the student signs up, and are heard in class on a regular basis. Certainly anything we'd ask a white or yellow belt is in the handbook... but for red & brown belts, the questions can be more obscure.

3. psbn matt

psbn matt great sage = of heaven

there is no wirtten test as there is in tae kwon do, but i have just been informed that in my last bb testing when kuk sa nim comes over we my be asked to write kuk sool won and our names in korean. so i have been practicing and can know write kuk sool won and will start on my name next. but that is all i have ever heard of, and this is somthing quite new.

4. Wolf

Wolf Totalitarian Dictator

that shouldn't be bad. Hangeul is a very easy written language. Now if he expects you to write in Hanja, that's another story! :eek:

5. Choiyoungwoo

Choiyoungwoo Guest

I agree. But what does that have to do with someone being a qualified Black Belt??

6. ember

ember Valued Member