Would Judo be suitable for me with a back problem?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by PHILBERT, Jul 11, 2010.

1. PHILBERT

PHILBERT Valued Member

I am looking to take up traditional Judo here in the D/FW area. However, I have a back, actually a spinal/skeletal disorder called scheuermann's kyphosis (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scheuermann's_disease) which sometimes causes problems due to having a mild case of arthritis in the lower back.

Now, I've done Brazilian JiuJitsu before and the only problem I had while doing BJJ was limiting my mobility during grappling, I.E. some techniques where other people have no problem twisting their bodies, I was unable to perform because my body couldn't twist as far. Or during long periods of time being on my back during grappling (which, sadly was quite often lol) it caused my energy to sap faster.

I have limited experience being thrown, however the few times I have been thrown it never really felt painful to my back.

I am curious if anyone here does Judo with kyphosis and/or it's cousin scoliosis and has problems? Thanks.

Last edited: Jul 11, 2010
  2. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

I dont have any back problems but one of my mates at bjj came over from judo a couple months ago and had to leave due to back problems. He said it was a persistent thing but I dont think he's ever got it checked out properly so sadly I can't tell you if its the same problem you have.

I would say try it but make it known to your sensei and training partners and they'll be able to put less momentum into the throw. If its only mobility problems and not impact ones then you could be fine really might have to avoid a couple of things but its not neccasary to be ableto do every throw in judo to grade or anything.

3. PHILBERT

PHILBERT Valued Member