Will practicing internal kung fu make me hyperventilate?

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by Undecided, Dec 22, 2011.

1. Undecided

Undecided New Member

I'm considering taking up internal kung fu, purely for the style that this particular teacher teaches and to gain more power in my strikes (I must say that he is very good). However, I heard that some people in general can go a bit mental because of the breathing exercises and the techniques taught in internal kung fu, especially if one has an existing condition prior to taking up this form of martial art (not from this particular teacher, but just from reading things online).

I am an anxious and nervous person and often have slight hyperventilation for no reason. I'm worried that practicing internal kung fu will only make my hyperventilation worse. Or do you think that I'll be able to control my existing hyperventilation condition? Any thoughts or experiences on this?

P.S. I'm new to this martial arts planet thing.

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Welcome to MAP! As far as internal arts go, I have no idea, but I know a bit about generating (punching) power. Requires great technique, that's the best way. You can't gain power through doing movements not related to punching.

Again, I'm talking about punching. :)

3. AndrewTheAndroid

AndrewTheAndroid A hero for fun.

You should consult a physician.

4. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

5. leftwingtaoist

leftwingtaoist Valued Member

depends what kind of exercises you are doing. if you are doing fire breathing, or compression breathing, or any other power breathing, then yes you are in for a trouble. good teacher should not teach those kind of things to emotionaly or mentaly unstable people.