Will my feet get harder/ stop bruising from kicking the bag?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by miniDekkers, Sep 3, 2010.

1. miniDekkers

miniDekkers Valued Member

I am new to martial arts, I have been a boxer all my life I just "converted" and started learning a style and have been conditioning myself to kick.

I know its normal for your shins to bruise but what about your feet? My right foot does not bruise much but my left foot bruises all the way up to the toes. It doesnt hurt or anything even when I touch it (only on the first day when its swollen), maybe its just my skin color?

2. Metal_Kitty

Metal_Kitty Valued Member

My shins used to bruise real bad, and it hurt like hell too. But after about a month, it stopped hurting and no longer bruised when I kick my bag. Don't know about feet though...I rarely kick with my feet, and if I do it's with the heel...and that doesn't hurt/bruise at all.

Your shins will definitely become conditioned to it after a while. Just gotta put up with the pain in the meantime.

3. slipthejab

slipthejab Hark, a vagrant! Supporter

It just takes time for your shins/legs/feet to adjust to the repeated impact on a heavy bag. As time goes by you will find that you bruise less and less until the point where it's rare to get a bruise.

A large part of this is your distance and timing. Wrong distance leads to bruising... too far out and you catch more of the foot and all that power hits the ankle and the bones in the feet and toes. They will swell up and change color if you nail them hard enough. It just takes time to find that distance where you sink your shin right through the bag like a hot knife through butter.

Give it some time and play with your distance and timing. You will find that working through the distance with a conscious effort to land the area of the shin from the ankle on up will make a huge difference in how much you bruise your feet.

4. fightwalker

fightwalker New Member