Why weapons?

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by xubis, Oct 15, 2003.

1. xubis

xubis New Member

I am currently teaching myself how to use the sai and nunchaku.. but I thought to myself, why? It is extremely unlikley I will ever have a chance to use these weapons when I need to. I knew this when I started training, and I thought there will be other uses for them, such as co-ordination etc. What are your lots view on this? Why do you train a certain weapon?

2. SOLID

SOLID Banned Banned

I don't train in weapons but i may do in a decade or so when I have a high quality of hand to hand combat.

-I'd say because it's fun,
    -It also can be adapted, for example a pool cue could be used in the same way as a sword or stick, get the drift?

Matthew

3. LilBunnyRabbit

LilBunnyRabbit Old One

Main reason I train in weapons is simply to expand my horizons. There's also the fact that weapon experience helps me not to die at LRP events, which can't hurt.

4. kobudo_tob

kobudo_tob Valued Member

I like practising with weapons. I think thats good justification.

5. saikyou

saikyou New Member

ditto. :):cool:

6. Terry Matthes

Terry Matthes New Member

I think it's fun and a really really good coordination drill. You can't just pick up a bo or sai, or three sectional staff and go. It really takes some coordination, a lot of which can transfer over to your hand to hand combat.

7. Sweeet

Sweeet Valued Member

I think it's absolutely necessary from a self-defense perspective. Coming from the perspective of 'anything, can be used from a weapon' and furthering that with 'almost everything WILL be used as a weapon' you need to have at least some knowledge of how to handle things properly. The counter, table, beer bottle, keys and keychain, cell phone, spare change, and even the belt on your pants are all potential and probably available weapons in a typical 'bar fight' situation. Should someone escalate things, I'd say it's necessary to know how to use them.