Why i left martial arts

Discussion in 'Self Defence' started by Isaiah90, Aug 19, 2019.

1. Isaiah90

Isaiah90 Member

This is my story of why i left martial arts.

I always was a huge fan of martial arts as a kid. I watched films from people like Bruce Lee, Jet Li, Jackie Chan, etc. and loved them. I started off as a Wing Chun practitioner. I studied Wing Chun for quite some time years ago because i wanted to learn self defense. I believed it would make me built for self defense. I decided to spar with people trained or not and see how effectively Wing Chun would work. I did not believe training with people of the same style.

I got one guy i knew to spar no contact when he visited. He tried throwing straight punches. I parried and countered with straight punches to his face. He was surprised, but he tried a different approach. He threw a punch and i parried. As soon as i parried, he grabbed my arm then pulled me towards him as i was delivering the counter punch. He grabbed both of my arms to prevent me from striking. I realized Wing Chun's weakness was grappling.

I was troubled by this so i searched how to counter grapplers. To my surprise, i heard many Wing Chun practitioners get submitted and taken down by BJJ practitioners. I looked for responses from Wing Chun practitioners on how to deal with grapplers. They didn't even address it. They did address how to deal with double leg takedowns, but still didn't fully address on how to deal with grapplers.