Why do people discriminate against disabled martial artists?

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by Hapuka, Sep 7, 2011.

1. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

I don't know about you guys but nothing inspires me more than seeing a disabled person overcoming their disabilities by participating in the martial arts. Its a humbling experience and I guess some people have trouble handling that.

Have you ever witnessed discrimination towards the disabled in the martial arts?

If you have a disability, have you experienced discrimination towards yourself because of it?

I'm not sure If I would class as a disabled martial artist, I have aspergers syndrome, true it takes me longer to learn and sometimes sparring can be neurologically overloading, but every time I spar I'm becoming more relaxed and strategic in my apporach. My Boxing club has accepted me with open arms, and I've been there now for almost two years. If it weren't for recent events I would of been competing by now (damn mobility vans) :bang:. But soon I'll be back and training for upcoming fights now that my leg has almost healed.

I have experienced discrimination before, back when I first took up the martial arts, Taekwon-do and Muay Thai back in my early to mid teens. A somewhat alienating experience, I was left out allot and punished for doing things I didn't understand that were considered wrong (like talking back to the teacher) and addressing people by their first names rather than formal titles. :dunno:

2. Rand86

Rand86 likes to butt heads

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NuufTqR9Zg"]Professor gigante - YouTube[/ame]

Only those who don't want to don't learn.

3. Rand86

Rand86 likes to butt heads