Who is this Bruce Sims?

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by JTMS, Oct 24, 2007.

1. JTMS

JTMS Valued Member

Tell us what you know. Does anyone even like him? (Aunt's and grand mothers excluded).

Where is his dojang? I am not sure if he even has one!

Just curious :D

2. Utotin

Utotin Valued Member

Master Murphy, how are you? This is Dan Leyva from Sierra Madre Hapkido in So Cal.

Anyway, Bruce Simms is a guy who appears to be very sincere in his passion for HKD and his efforts to preserve and propogate HKD. He has authored a few books on HKD and contributed to a very good article on Choi, Yong Sul and the Yong Sul Kwan. He teaches a college HKD course in Illinois and is affiliated with Kwang Sik Myung. He can be pretty opinionated, abbrasive and hard headed at times, and seems to have stepped on alot of toes, but he appears to have good intentions.

3. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo

I've been interacting with Bruce for a few years now, mainly on www.hapkidoforum.com and have had great conversations and horrible flamefests with him. His passion and his quickness to call "BS" on things can sometimes lead to nasty threads and flamefests but at the same time his depth of research and general overall knowledge makes most of his posts well worth reading. He definately is an asset as far as raising ideas and stimulating discussion.

On a side note, I've been on the mat with him and he's fun to work with. He knows his stuff and loves to share. Granted, we had quite a flamefest after the meeting because of differences in expectations.... but oh well. :)

His dojang website: http://www.midwesthapkido.com/

Amazon's list of books

4. JTMS

JTMS Valued Member

Hi Thomas!

What a small world. I was just thinking about spending a little time on the mat with Bruce myself :D

5. American HKD

American HKD New Member

Greetings

I also think Bruce is intellegent and could be an asset to the HKD community if he'd temper his behavior and have more tolerance for others.