When does lifting become pointless?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Axelator, Sep 25, 2009.

1. Axelator

Axelator Not called Alex.

If you lift purely to increase strength for ring fighting at what point does it become pointless to keep trying to improve strength?

For example. I'm a beginner who weighs 77kg. I want to improve my strength so I have stronger strikes, take downs etc. I lift weights and my bench goes from 50kg to 90kg, my squat from 90 to 140kg my deadlift from 100 to 160kg. Obviously because I've never lifted weights before I found it quite easy to greatly improve my strength, now my techniques are much stronger.

Now it's going to take a lot more effort for me to increase my lift numbers by 10kg than it was for me to vastly improve them the first time, and if I do invest the time in strength training opposed to other training methods I will only be increasing my strength by a fraction?

So my question is at what point a fighter should stop trying to improve their strength and focus on other aspects of their fitness. So if we talk about it in terms of body weight should they stop at a 2x body weight squat, 2.5x bw deadlift and a 1.25x bw bench? Or should they just stop when they feel that the returns from strength training barely improve the strength of their techniques?

Last edited: Sep 25, 2009
  2. liero

liero Valued Member

Dont stop lifting or trying to improve. just periodise your training, you shouldnt be trying to get that extra 10 kgs on the bench press a week before your fight, But if your in a preseason conditioning program then getting that extra strength is part of your overal goal!

3. Custom Volusia

Custom Volusia Valued Member

you should never stop.....even if you just keep going to maintain what you have gained...that is just as important as improving. If you stop..you lose.

4. Moi

Moi Warriors live forever x

Does that mean you keep trying for gains or reach a level you're happy with and stick to it?