Whats the differance?

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by Nimrook, Jul 29, 2003.

1. Nimrook

Nimrook New Member

Exactly what is the differance between Kenpo and traditional Karate?

Obviously I'm not a practitioner of either or I might already know the differance between the two.

2. Bigfoot

Bigfoot Smile, laugh, be happy!

Tough question. It is like asking what the difference between spelling and writing is. I don't think anyone could answer your question fully. There are too many different styles of Karate to make all comparisons.
    Kenpo is a form of Karate that was introduced to Hawaii in the 1950´s and modified by Ed Parker. He is more or less know as the pioneer that introduced Karate to America. He incorporated many new training methods and was very insightful as how to use the whole body to defend oneself and in a logical way.
    I don't want to go into it more than I have already written, as I am by no means an expert on the subject. I can only say that anyone who studies Kenpo (under a competent instructor) is someone to stay away from. Kenpo will enhance just about any style you train if you let it.

3. Nimrook

Nimrook New Member

Thanks for you info, it helps. perhaps I should give it a try if I can find a master up here

4. Flashing Dagger

Flashing Dagger Valued Member