What weapon martial arts are out there?

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by HollowMoon, Apr 24, 2014.

1. HollowMoon

HollowMoon Valued Member

Hey! :D So I've been doing martial arts for a couple of months now. Mostly just trying out a lot of stuff to see what sticks. So far, if you're interested, I've been regularly going to capoeira classes and enjoying it quite a lot.

But I've been thinking lately, that I've not tried out any martial arts with weapons, and that it seems like something that could be quite interesting. The only ones that come to mind for me are kendo, silat and ninjitsu (if I'm not mistaken).

So my question is, what kind of martial arts are there that incorperate weapons or are based entirely on using a weapon? And furthermore, does anyone perhaps have any useful information or advice on the subject?

Thanks in advance. :)

2. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Try Filipino martial arts (FMA). Kali, arnis, eskrima. They start with weapons.

3. Moosey

Moosey invariably, a moose Supporter

Fencing?

4. dormindo

dormindo Active Member Supporter

HEMA, La Canne, Karate, a number of forms of Kung Fu and so on.

5. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter

Choy Li Fut has tons of weapons. My lineage has 53 different weapons. You name it, CLF probably has it.

Spears, staffs, chain whip, various swords, cudgels, two and three sectional staffs, daggers, wind and fire wheels, halberds, Farmer's hoe, axes, the list goes on...........

But at least in my school, you start off with hand forms. Then move to weapons when you get to intermediate levels.

6. Christianson

Christianson Valued Member