What to expect in your first amateur kickboxing bout?

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by HearWa, Jul 8, 2004.

1. HearWa

HearWa Ow, that hurt...

My instructor is getting some fights lined up for me this November, but I'm still not exactly sure what to expect. I know the rules and everything, but what's it like stepping into the ring for the first time? My next sash I'm going for is black, but I want to test myself before I grade...

I'm confident in my abilities, but I realize I'm not experienced enough to be anything great. I've been in Kung Fu for five years, but kickboxing is a whole new frontier. I've been conditioning alot in the past two years, but there's still room for progress. So... what should I expect?

Ps. Keep in mind I have no idea what organization I'll be fighting in yet.

Last edited: Jul 8, 2004
  2. pug32

pug32 Valued Member

expect a big adrenaline rush before hand!

Hard to say if you don't know the organisation, is it full or semi contact?

3. HearWa

HearWa Ow, that hurt...

Full contact, and from what I've heard very simular to IKF regulations. There's semi-contact kickboxing? :S How does that work?

4. alex_000

alex_000 You talking to me?

You hit with moderate power and in the end the one with more points in 2-3 rounds wins. Its not like point TKD sparring. There are no pauses exept from the round bell . You get a penalty or disqualification for strong punches/kicks. In some i thing only directs (1-2) are allowed.

5. Ikken Hisatsu

Ikken Hisatsu New Member

stupid sounding rules to me. one tip- protect your stomach! while fighting with a partner yesterday I hit him across the solar plexus with a thai roundhouse kick. he could not breathe for about 15 seconds and fell to the ground, throwing off his gloves. I dont know american kickboxing rules though, are you allowed to strike with the shin? knees? I know elbows are not allowed in america. leg kicks though?