What new art to do

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Oldmike, Apr 18, 2011.

1. Oldmike

Oldmike Valued Member

I've been doing martial arts since 1959 when I was 8 years old. TKD for the last 20 plus years interspersed with some judo and Arnis. I feel it's time for a change.

There are a couple of MMA school nearby. One is junk with obvious rank amatuers puffing out there pigeon chests. This one seems ok. I've checked it out and I like the head instructor (no chest puffery) plus his nose had obvoiusly been busted :)

http://mambamma.com/

I'd appreciate it if one of you could check it out. Tuitioin is $125 per month.

The othe issue is age. I'm 60 years old so I was thinking about Akido but the local guy is way too formal for my taste. I'm 180 and 6 foot one running about 14% body fat so age has not yet withered me:) Now your advice might b to take the classes but don't spar but Inow myself. I won't be able to resist.

2. Giovanni

Giovanni Well-Known Member Supporter

i've done both aikido and bjj. is there a strictly bjj place near you? i'm 40, considerably younger than you. but so far in bjj (5 months in), it's been pretty pleasant. it's tough yes, but not rough.

i found a bjj place in abbotsford. is this near you?

http://www.jiujitsulife.com/

aikido has some formalities, but it's pretty fun.

3. Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara Valued Member

Age is just a number. My dad is 60 years old, and he has a 6 year old boy and a 6 month old girl, my brother and sister. Go for it, if that is what you want. :lifting: I also agree with Giovanni, bjj is awesome!

4. Oldmike

Oldmike Valued Member

Thanks but I've had a life time of formality!

What I'm mostly interested in is the boxing, kick boxing and maui tai (sp?) preferably not at a chain school.

5. Oldmike

Oldmike Valued Member

Yeah, right 60 is the new 59 :)

6. Giovanni

Giovanni Well-Known Member Supporter