What is you favorite martial art and why?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by ckstuds, Feb 3, 2012.

1. ckstuds

ckstuds Banned Banned

I am new to martial arts, I want to know what everyones favorite martial art is and why? Why do you enjoy this certain art more than anyone else?

2. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

BJJ, because I get to hold big strong men.

3. Giovanni

Giovanni Well-Known Member Supporter

judo, because the earth is my weapon.

4. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

MMA, although not actually a martial art, and more of a sport. I love practicing it because it is very close to real one-on-one combat as you can get. I also love the fact that I can incorporate anything I want into it, for instance today I was sparring with my little Brother, and I managed pak sao followed up by some strikes!

How cool is that? :D

5. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Hardly confined to MMA.

You palmed an arm out of the way and hit back.

6. Pretty In Pink

Well that's the words that ran through my head when I done it.

Thanks for being a douche though, much appreciated.

7. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Chadderz, your just back from a ban. I would leave out the personal attacks if I were you.

8. Pretty In Pink

You should stay on topic man, trolling isn't cool.

9. AmericanFighter

AmericanFighter Valued Member

Idealy I would like to say my favorite style is no style at all. As Bruce lee said "I don't believe in styles." I try to incorpeeate my boxing wrestling and tai chi into one concept when fighting.

However if I had to pick one it would be tai chi. I benefit greatly from tai chi not just from a martial aspect but also from a mental aspect. When the stress of grad school or work or life in general comes down on me hard going through and doing my tai chi form helps clear my mind and helps me relax.

10. Mitch