What Is Unique About Your Silat?

Discussion in 'Silat' started by Saiful Azraq, Jun 17, 2008.

1. Saiful Azraq

Saiful Azraq Valued Member

Salam hormat,

This is probably an explosive issue, but seeing as the forum members have been pretty civil these last few threads, I thought I'd try. What do you think/ assume/ know is unique about your particular style/system? It can be technical or spiritual, but please, nothing as inane as the name of teacher or training venue (of course it's unique!).

A good thing I hope to come out of this is we get to know each others' style a little better and a bad thing with silver lining is that we find out whether what he have is truly unique or otherwise (amongst ourselves at least).

Let me start off with what I think is unique about the styles I studied.

Silat Cekak Hanafi
    -blue uniform
    -uses a Lading in reverse grip

Silat Melayu Keris Lok 9
    -Tapak 9, a relatively static method of training balance and is the core for all footwork in our style.

Silat Kuntau Tekpi
    -couldn't think of any

Silat Sendeng
    -couldn't think of any

Silat Kalimah
    -locks, strikes and throws based off salat, the Muslim prayer.

Hmmmm.... any takers? Taker? You taking?

Salam persilatan,

2. Rebo Paing

Rebo Paing Pigs and fishes ...

Salam taklim, Silat Sekar Wana is my own silat distilled from my father's influence, R. Suyono Pryosusilo, the influence of my other respected teacher Prof. Li Pei Dong and practical experience. It is now my family silat ... Most silat teach technique/application first ... sometimes through jurus ... and the pesilat gradually understands how to move following that ... We learn how to move first in relation to body structure, tonus and gravity, then gradually unfold technique/application from that. I call the process lelaku (the way we follow) and it is the foundation to our gerak nurani (inspired movement - movement from the light of the eye).

Cheers.

Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  3. Kertas