What is this exercise called and how do you do it?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by Hapuka, Feb 11, 2016.

1. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

So I'm new to judo (4 sessions in) and I'm enjoying it. But I'm having trouble with learning some of the exercises. Mainly this one here, skip to 0:39. I don't know what its called in judo, by I tried searching for the name given in the video with zero results.

[ame="http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=o4Fvqtcrxi0"]http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=o4Fvqtcrxi0[/ame]

2. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

Ronda Rousey hands down does that exercise the best I've ever seen it done. She can get across the floor like that almost as fast as people walk.
    I tried to find a gif of it but no luck.
    No idea what it's called though.

3. Alansmurf

Alansmurf Aspire to Inspire before you Expire Supporter

The tasmanian devil ...

They rub their scent glands just like that !!

4. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

Ooh! This is one of my favourite movement exercises. Mainly because its really easy and beginners always look silly trying to do it.

So, first things first, this movement is 100% about rhythm. If you get into a rhythm, it's really easy, otherwise it looks like you're having a seizure.

So, we'll break it down. Lie on your back with your knees and feet up and your hands clasped in front of you. Now, start rocking gently backwards and forward - no sidewards movement yet! Your butt and shoulders should lift an inch or two off the mat at either ends of the rocking movement. It's a fairly small movement.