What Is The Difference?

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by The Phenom, Jul 2, 2006.

1. The Phenom

The Phenom New Member

Hello, I am new to martial arts. I am just wondering, what is the difference between Thai Kickboxing and Kickboxing?

2. MartialJac

MartialJac Banned Banned

Thai Boxing originated in Thailand and is known as the science of 8 limbs, meaning that each arm or leg has 2 weapons - hands and feet and then knees and elbows. It is not only a stiking art as there can be alot of stand up grappling ( a bit like when a boxer holds on) But it has been developed into an
    art form to position yourself for the knees and elbows. Normally strikes with unprotected weapons ie:elbows, knees and shins score more highly. It is also a self defense system but most people (in UK) do it as a sport.

Kickboxing was I believe started in the 70's as a full contact sport for Karate people who wanted to test themselves in the ring (although this could be myth) It is more like western boxing with kicks. I think you have to score so many kicks above the waist in a round. But as I don't know enough about the subject I will leave it for a kickboxer.

3. kickboxingidiot

kickboxingidiot Valued Member

There are that many systems of kickboxing , its hard to pinpoint "kickboxing" as a specific style.
    Kickboxing is an umbrella for many different formats involving boxing + kicking.

Examples:
    Muay thai (thaiboxing) is a kickboxing system from thailand,
    Savate is a kickboxing system from France
    The one you mentioned earlier is called FULL CONTACT and came from the USA in the 1970's (you were spot on with your description of FC by the way)
    Bando is burmese kickboxing (which came before muay thai)
    There is also chinese kickboxing , San Shou
    As well as Japanese kickboxing which is known as K-1

4. TheMightyMcClaw

TheMightyMcClaw Dashing Space Pirate