What is the difference between a dumbbell squat and a dumbbell deadlift?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by jsmith, Feb 28, 2005.

1. jsmith

jsmith Valued Member

Hello,

I'm a relative beginner to lifting weights (maybe 4-6 months), and something that has been confusing me to the whole time is the difference between a standard deadlift using dumbbells, and a squat using dumbbells (I realize these lifts are better done with a barbell, but dumbbells are all I'll have access to for the foreseeable future).

As far as I can tell from reading about them, the only difference seems to be that the squat goes down, then up while a deadlift goes up, then down.

Should I just keep squatting?

2. LI GUY

LI GUY New Member

I think I know. In a squat the barbell is held on the shoulders and behind the neck. It rests on your traps. The movement works your legs mostly. In a deadlift the bar is placed on the floor in front of your body. It works more your lower back.

Try it with barbells and you will see the difference.
    The dumbells are probably distorting your technique.

3. Ad McG

Ad McG Troll-killer Supporter

If you only have dumbells, they are probably not too heavy either. Try looking up dumbell snatches, swings and clean and press. These movements will use a lighter weight and are probably more practical for use with a dumbell.

4. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

5. Ad McG

Turkish get ups are amazing. I was doing them with a 14kg dumbell the other day, I failed to get up a couple of times. I was doing them no handed at first, then had to start using the other hand to help me up a bit.

6. Athleng Nordic

Athleng Nordic Sadly passed away. RIP. Supporter

7. jsmith

jsmith Valued Member

Thanks for the great advice everyone!

The dumbbells are adjustable, so I can go to whatever weight I want but I can tell my legs will outgrow my arms very soon.

I will defiantly look into the above mentioned exercises.

8. Mo Lung

Mo Lung Hard work!