What is Kuk Sool?

Discussion in 'Kuk Sool' started by Quozl, Nov 12, 2009.

1. Quozl

Quozl Valued Member

Hi all,

This may sound like a daft question, but since I have been following all the various different threads, with respect to a new KS association, or Hwrang Do, and reading post by people like Bruce, and Pugil and Unknown KJN, and Hyeongsa and many others who all have seemingly significant amounts of knowledge of Korea MAs and other MAs, gained from man years of hard work and study (and I name only a few of the people who contribute with significant amounts of Knowledge so please forgive me if I haven't mentioned you specifically ;)), I am now beginning to wonder what it is I am actually studying. :dunno:

It sounds stupid, but through these forums (fora?? :dunno:) I am seeing that there are many people who study Korean Martial Arts under different names such as Hapkido, Hwrang Do etc, who all seem to have similar names if not identical names for forms, such as Ki Cho Hyung, or Cho Gup Hyung, and the same sets of techniques, such as Dan Do Maki, or whatever, however they are all slightly different, but similar enough to see that there is a common ancestor. It is sort of like listening to Geordie, then a Glaswegian, then a Dundonian, then a Scouser then a Cockney, and seeing that they are all speaking English, but not quite the same way.

It would also appear that the Hyung and the Techniques have changed over the years in KSW, and other "KS based" (and please forgive me phrasing it that way; no insult intended to any other Korean martial arts such as Hapkido etc). Therefore, if it has changed (and it would appear not to just be KSW that has changed them) how are they "authentic" dating back to when Adam was a Lad, or weren't they authentic when they were started and arev the "mistakes" being "ironed out"?