What is "Internal MA"?

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by alister, Dec 1, 2005.

1. alister

alister Huh?

Forgive my ignorance and if this has been asked before...but what are "Internal Martial Arts" and what are some common examples?

How does it work, what does it do etc etc... So many questions.

Just curious. Cheers :D

2. Johnno

Johnno Valued Member

Chinese martial arts are traditionally divided into 'internal' and 'external'. Internal are Taiji, Bagua and Xingyi. External is everything else. The inetrnal arts are sometimes refered to as the Wudang tradition, and the external arts the Shaolin tradition, by the way.

The division is more a matter of convenience, and shouldn't be treated as being watertight. A lot of mistaken assumptions seem to be made about various arts based on whether they are classed as one or the other.

For example, when I studied Taiji, I was under the impression that all 'external' arts rely simply on speed and muscle power for effectiveness, and 'meet force with force'. Now that I study Shaolin I realise that this is actually far from the case!

As I understand it (and other people will undoubtedly post far better explanations than this) internal MA's are so-called because they utilise effective body-mechanics rather than muscle strength to generate power. (Although practising any internal MA will require you to develop greater muscular strengthn in your legs.) Not that 'external' arts don't do this too to some degree. It's really just a matter of emphasis as far as I can see.

3. onyomi

onyomi 差不多先生