What is a GRANDMASTER?

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by KoreanWarrior, Jul 31, 2006.

1. KoreanWarrior

KoreanWarrior Valued Member

Well IMHO here goes.

First to be a GM in my eyes and speaking for no one else should be teaching for 20-30 years so that right off knocks out all the 30 year old GM's. Ans some of the 40 year olds too!

Second you must have trained a few people to master level, which IMHO takes 15-20 years to reach master level.

Third there is no cumulative effect of black belts in multiple styles. i.e. if you get a 1stBB in Karate a 1stBB in Judo a 1stBB in Akido a 1stBB in Hapkido that doesnt make you a GM, your still at a 1st dahn level just is several styles.
    Example If a get a BA in Art and BS in Engr. BS in GEO a BA English I cant add them up and say I have a PHD in anything...

Just my thinking on this, please let me know how you size things up

KW

2. klaasb

klaasb ....

The term grandmaster is a western in invention.

You either master something, or you don't.

I would rather see the term 'master' being replaced by either 'teacher' or 'instructor'.

3. You Won Hwa

You Won Hwa Valued Member

Wasn't Kuk Sa Nym quite young when he was awarded that title? If Grandmaster is an American invention, does Kuk Sa Nym not imply grandmaster, since certianly, only in his early 20s, he hadn't trained anyone to master level yet?

4. Wolf

Wolf Totalitarian Dictator

Kuk Sa Nym literally means "National Teacher." It's not tied into master at all. As I understand it both Suh, In Hyuk and Seo, In Sun have this title as it's awarded by the Korean government (though I do not know how old they were when given the title).

5. hapkidophyte

hapkidophyte New Member

Well then, let's at least define the western invention.

I used to be under the impression (from Marc Tedeschi's book I think), that a grandmaster was 9th Dan. Just the other day I was reading something (I don't recall what-- I skim too many things) that said grandmaster is 7th Dan.