What I learned in class today...

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by Tian-Tian, Aug 25, 2010.

1. Tian-Tian

Tian-Tian Awesome 15 minutes a day.

Hello, everyone! I'm new to Tai Chi... I know very little about this art and so I've decided to document my experiences in my Tai Chi class in the hopes that I will better retain the things I learned. I also hope, by documenting this among fellow Tai Chi practicioners (read: in this part of the forum), I may gain more insight from you all and apply them to my training.

Tai Chi class occurs every Monday and Wednesday. As time allows I will update on these days.

May the learning begin! :D

--
    DAY ONE: in which I am left confused and perhaps had a supernatural experience.

So.... I got to class 5 minutes late because the room changed and I didn't bother to check this morning before I left the apartment.

I got to my class just as we were jumping into some forms. Let me tell you the things I learned first:

1. Tai Chi requires a LOT of concentration.
    2. Forcing movement HURTS.
    3. I really need to stretch my limbs before class so that my joints and neck won't be popping during class.

As we began our movements, I discovered that we generally pivot on our heels, which has been difficult for me to do since my ankle injury last year. I told my teacher about my ankle and my issue with pivoting on my heel and his simple solution was "don't force it; go as far as your body can go, then stop". I also learned that there is an acupuncture point called "bubbling spring" just behind the ball of the foot. He said we shouldn't rotate on the ball of our foot simply because unpleasant things would occur (he was a bit vague about what those would be). I find this interesting, simply because in Hapkido and Tae Kwon Do, rotating on the ball of the foot was ESSENTIAL to most class activities (with exception to forms, in which we would lean back on the heel). I believe I may have to break myself of those old habits.